Making Weather Words

This is probably my favorite activity from this month.  I got the idea from Counting Coconuts and made it my own.

One of the most amazing Montessori materials (in my humble opinion) is the Moveable Alphabet.  When your child is ready to start working with forming words, beginning sounds, ending sounds and so much more this is an excellent tool to use with your child.  We don’t yet have a Moveable Alphabet, so I thought this idea of using PlayDoh letter stamps was a great way to begin to teach Carter a few of the weather words from this month.

The materials were pretty simple to bring together.  I found the PlayDoh backpack locally, and it includes the letters, numbers and 4 tubs of PlayDoh.  I gave him a few days to play and explore with all the materials before bringing the letters over for this activity.  I printed my own word cards using free clip art from the internet.  This has been a big hit with Carter.  He will literally sit and make word after word, which takes a good bit of time and concentration.  I’m seeing him sound out the word as he ads each letter.

Enjoy and thank you for your comments!

One thought on “Making Weather Words

Leave a Reply

