Cooking with Carter: Cheese Crackers

I am a self-proclaimed crazy person when it comes to what I put into my and my family’s bodies.  I enjoy reading about the good and not-so-good in the food world right now.  As a total side note, I do not like the things that I’m reading about artificial colorings, high fructose corn syrup and certain preservatives.  Though I’ve been in different places on the healthy eating spectrum, I do my best to keep us in the “Good For You” corner.  To me, food should resemble what it looked like when it was harvested and not have been messed around with too much before I eat it.  I prefer to be able to pronounce and understand the ingredients on the side of a box or bag.  That’s just me.  *stepping down from soap box now*

I really enjoy finding something that I love and trying to duplicate it at home in a less-processed way.  And, Carter is always a great help in the kitchen.

|Some of my favorites:  Homemade Waffles, NY Style Bagels with flavored cream cheeses and Pumpkin Cupcakes.  The bagels are a bit of a challenge, but SO worth it.  The other two are so easy and delicious, WHY would you buy a mix?!?!|

Last night my husband decided to go a little crazy making home fries, and I needed something special to pull out of my hat to keep Carter away from the mandolin slicer and the hot oil.  My solution: Homemade Goldfish Crackers, shaped like flowers for Spring.  Let me just say that I should have tripled the batch because I wanted to eat them all myself as soon as they cooled.

They were super easy: only a few ingredients:

The Ingredients

There were plenty of opportunities for a three-year old to get right in there and help.  He helped measure and add ingredients.  I offered to let him push the button on the food processor, but it was so loud, he opted to leave the room.  And, he cut the shapes and placed them on the parchment paper.

Adding ingredients

Cutting out the crackers

His anticipation was so cute!  I think he may have watched them cook for the entire 12 minutes.

C'mon, bake!

They were oh so yummy!  I’ve got to find one of those mini goldfish cutters for the next time…and there will be a next time.

Enjoy and thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

