Lacing Buttons and Beads

Buttons with just three holes.

Image via Wikipedia

Lacing Buttons and Beads

Carter is 3 years, 3 months old.

You will need:

Large buttons with large holes (NOTE:  Most of my button’s holes were too small for the shoelace to go through, so we used mostly beads)
Shoelace or piece of string
Small container for buttons

Procedure:

1.               Put the buttons and string in a small container.

2.               Demonstrate how to tie a knot in the end of the string so that the buttons do not slip off.

3.               Thread a few buttons, one at a time, all the way to the end of the string.

4.               Pass the container for your child to try. When he is finished, tie to become a necklace or return the materials to the container.

Conclusion: I sat the materials on the table and walked away to gather some things for another activity and I returned to find Carter diving right in.  This was an excellent time to demonstrate how the beads fall off without the knot tied into the end.  We tied the knot and got to it.  He strung a few beads and buttons and then wanted to hand it off to me to finish.  This is code for one of 2 things: I am bored or I am tired.  Being that he’s got a little cold, I think he’s just a little worn down.

Even though I post the activities one a day, I don’t always do just 1 a day.  Some days Carter’s ready to work for hours.  Some days he’s done after just one.  I like to be ready.  On this day he was interested in all the activities, but a case of the yuckies really affected his perseverance with them.  I keep all the activities on a shelf for a few weeks at a time, so I’m hoping he’ll come back to them later.

What have you tried?  What’s working?

These activities are here for sharing.  If you like it, (say so, then) grab the link and pass it on.  It’s the highest form of bloggy love! ♥

One thought on “Lacing Buttons and Beads

Leave a Reply

